What I think of me v’s What my kids think of me

After watching the inspiring video, “What moms think about themselves v’s What their kids think” I decided to ask my monkeys to name three things they love about their dad. The little man’s response was confident and without hesitation. “Wrestling, playing the Xbox and more wrestling.” In hindsight this is not surprising given the amount they wrestle… but that is a blog for another day! Then the little lady named her three things with a similar assuredness but with a voice full of love. “I love Daddy’s kisses. I love when he gives me squeezes and I love when Daddy tickles me.” Daddy’s little girl just melted her Daddy’s heart.

I have to say I was a little nervous then asking them to name three things they love about me. Is that too much to ask a child? What if it’s not the answers I like or don’t want to hear? Or worse what if they can’t even think of three!
Children can boost your self esteem or be brutally honest and not so great for the self esteem. Bracing myself and assuming (hoping) the children in the video think like my children I took the plunge and bravely asked.

In order, the little man loves when we play Lego, bake and laugh together. Sigh of relief! However, the little lady took a little longer to say anything. I waited patiently and then she started pointing at her fingers and making a list. She loves when we play Lego, do jigsaws, bake, put her hair in plaits, go for a walk, cuddle on the couch, make bracelets. paint nails, when I pick her up from play school, when she wakes up in the morning and comes in to our bed for a chat, when I smile……. Phew! Massive sigh of relief! Slightly wet cheek.

photo copy 8Sometimes, when I am in the depths of rushing from my office to school runs, to starting on dinner, checking emails, doing bedtime, back to my office…running running running, I go to bed and wonder if I spent any quality time with my kids that day. “Mother’s guilt” is rampant in our house!

But not today. Just like the video, my children see beyond my shortcomings, they don’t hold grudges or remember what happened yesterday or an hour ago, they remember things that make them feel happy. Tonight I can have a guilt free night.

Secretly I am also chuffed that they share the same loves I have for Lego, jigsaws, baking and especially cuddling and laughing.  Although a recent birthday cake request for a Lego Head did test my love for baking!!

Leave a Reply

