A Simple Cup of Tea

What is it about that initial moment when you wave the kids off to a sleepover, the house is silent, you put the kettle on. You have dreamt of this moment for ages and then you wonder what to do!

My initial feeling is to miss the little monkeys. Then I have a wave of panic that I am wasting precious time, minutes are a treat, hours are precious… A whole day and night with no weddings or plans…. is the ultimate luxury. The excitement. There are so many things I want to do and can do that I don’t know what to do and what to do first! A long bubbly bath? A nap? Have an undisturbed chat on the phone? Paint a room? Potter around the shops? The list just grows and then I get over stimulated! So I put the kettle on again and have a breather.

For just a few moments, a brief interlude, I sit and drink a full cup of hot tea, not too strong from forgetting to take the tea bag out as a result of being summoned to a ‘muuuuuuuuum’ or having to referee a squabble, not too cold from forgetting about it, leaving it half full in odd places as I move around the house, and not reheated either.

images-18Undisturbed, in silence, from the first sip to an empty cup, this is one of life’s simple pleasures. (Cue: A huge sigh of contentment!)

Leave a Reply

